About Us

The Secretariat for Catholic Education supports over fifty Catholic Church schools in Malta and Gozo. Church schools cater for about one-third of the student population and provide education at kindergarten, primary, secondary and sixth-form levels.

The Secretariat falls under the jurisdiction of the Maltese Episcopal Conference. The Secretariat is also answerable to the Conference of Major Maltese Superiors and works closely with the Church Schools Association.

The main offices of the Secretariat are located very close to the Archbishop’s Curia in Floriana. The Secretariat has recently added more offices in Balzan.

The Secretariat serves as an important link to the Education Department at the Ministry for Education and Sports and the Malta Union of Teachers and other educational stakeholders.

The Secretariat provides provides administrative, curricular and psycho-social support to Church schools. The Secretariat administers the admission process into Church schools at Year 1 Kindergarten, Year 2 Kindergarten, Year 1 primary, Form 1/Year 7 secondary and when necessary at Year 4.

The Secretariat is also a member of the:

  • OIEC (Catholic International Education Office)
  • ECCE (European Committee for Catholic Education)

His Grace the Archbishop of Malta appoints a Delegate for Catholic Education who is responsible for the overall running of the Secretariat.  Rev Dr Charles Mallia holds this office and is supported by Dr Ian Mifsud, as Director General. Directors and Assistant Directors sustain the work of the Delegate and Director by managing the various services provided by the Secretariat in schools:

Rev Dr Charles Mallia
Delegate for Catholic Education
Dr. Ian Mifsud
Director General
Ms Anna Lisa Grech
Director for Finance, Human Resources and Administration
Ms Angela Charles
Director for Curriculum Entitlement
Ms Marjoe Abela
Director for Student Services
Sr Alexandra Chircop
Assistant Director for Pastoral Care
Mr Chris Bugeja
Assistant Director for Curriculum Entitlement
Ms Marika Abela
Assistant Director for Student Services

The Secretariat employs over one hundred professionals ranging from administrative staff, psycho-social professionals and curricular specialists.  These include:

  • Head of departments of various subjects who support teachers and provide them with short courses.
  • Administrative staff.
  • Counsellors who visit schools to support students overcome their difficulties.
  • Social Workers who help students and parents with the social requirements.
  • Service managers for various services.
  • Career Advisors.
  • Youth Workers.
  • Educational Psychologist who assess the educational requirements.
  • Inclusive Educations Coordinators.
  • Coordinators who are responsible for the inclusive education which involves in assessing children`s needs, as well as assisting children with special needs.
  • Literacy Support Teachers who are responsible for the programmes such as Let me Learn and the Malta Writing Programme; Programmes targeted to improve teacher`s teaching abilities.